NECA Unveils First 5 Simpsons Guest Star Products

NECA and Twentieth Century Fox Consumer Products Reveal Product Categories and Artwork Featuring First Five Celebrities of The Simpsons 25 Greatest Guest Stars Merchandise Program

Fans Invited To Share Their Favorite Guest Stars This Week on THE SIMPSONS Facebook Page

WHO: Twentieth Century Fox Consumer Products and National Entertainment Collectibles Association (NECA) today revealed artwork showcasing the first five celebrities included in the limited edition guest star merchandise program celebrating 25 seasons of THE SIMPSONS. Announced at Licensing Expo 2013, the first five guest stars include, Hugh Hefner, James Brown, Yao Ming, Tom Hanks, and Kid Rock.

WHAT: The limited-edition boutique collection includes more than one dozen assorted product categories, which feature each star's animated likeness as depicted in THE SIMPSONS and THE SIMPSONS MOVIE. Products include collectible miniatures and figures, apparel, games and puzzles, and more, and will begin rolling out globally in early 2014.

Coinciding with the reveal, NECA is also inviting fans to visit the official THE SIMPSONS Facebook page where visitors can share their favorite guest stars that have appeared as themselves on the TV series and in the film over the past 25 years. The most requested guest stars will be considered for inclusion in the merchandise program. Additionally, ten Facebook participants will be selected to receive a special Simpsons prize.

WHEN: Wednesday July 17th, 2013

WHERE: The official THE SIMPSONS Facebook page


The longest-running scripted show in television history, THE SIMPSONS exploded into a cultural phenomenon in 1990 and has remained one of the most groundbreaking and innovative entertainment franchises, recognizable throughout the world. Currently in production on its record-annihilating 25th season, THE SIMPSONS has won 27 Emmy Awards and been nominated for an Academy Award in 2012 for the theatrical short "The Longest Daycare." They have been the subject of a hit feature film, created a revolutionary virtual coaster ride at Universal Studios, received a Star on The Hollywood Walk of Fame and been honored with five U.S. postal stamps personally designed by Matt Groening. Named the “Best Show of the 20th Century” by Time Magazine, in 2013 Entertainment Weekly named THE SIMPSONS the Greatest American Sitcom.

THE SIMPSONS is a Gracie Films Production in association with 20th Century Fox Television. James L. Brooks, Matt Groening, and Al Jean are the Executive Producers. The Gracie Films Worldwide Brand Division develops and produces the licensed content for the series. Film Roman, a Starz Media Company, is the animation house.